parentsong

Stories and thoughts from day to day life in the Bullard Family

Recovering from Colic June 14, 2011

Filed under: Gabriel Stories,Parenting — parentsong @ 9:30 pm
Tags: , ,

Peaceful napping, mostly when not in a crib

I think the “worst” is over. Though, apparently, when raising children, things don’t get harder or easier, they just change. While there are many challenges of parenting I expect, things such as sleep deprivation and having to eat standing up or use only one hand for everything because the baby cannot be set down, there are some things that I do not like to be challenged by. Having a baby spitting up constantly and crying for many hours of the day is not fun. I just wanted to get through it. And we have. Now, we have a very happy, alert, spunky 3 ½ month old.

The problem now is that sleep is still a major issue. I have many books on sleep in infants and I understand how it works. Weissbluth is the only author I have read that acknowledges the effect colic has on the infant developing healthy sleeping habits. I believe that parents can really make or break a child’s ability to sleep well.

Happy most of the time, now!

I want to help our child learn to sleep. He currently wakes every 30 to 45 minutes from a nap and every hour to three hours in the night. This says to me that he cannot make it through natural arousals that occur in all sleep. We adults have learned how to stay asleep through having to move or adjust in our sleep. We don’t wake up full of vigor in the middle of the night because we were uncomfortable or had an itch or heard a car door shut. We mostly remain unconscious of it and carry on sleeping. By 12 to 16 weeks, infants have the ability to do the same thing. Hmmm, I guess we are dealing with a habit at this point.

While I am not quite ready to jump into hard-core sleep training just yet, we are devising a sort of plan to assist our child in getting the gist of sleeping. I’ll lay it out in another post, and hopefully report great things as time goes on.

 

3 Responses to “Recovering from Colic”

  1. Joy Says:

    This is such a relief to hear colic ends. I have an 8 week old who has been fussy since about week 2 of his life. So different than my first child. I’ve changed my diet, tried the gas drops, gripe water, etc and nothing seems to bring him relief other than holding him constantly. This makes it very difficult to attend to my other son, get housework done, etc. Also, I can totally relate to worrying about how this is going to affect his future sleep patterns. I’d love to hear more how it is going. I am on the lookout for more health resources for my kids and came across this Mom’s Guide to Caring for Little Teeth (http://www.1dental.com/moms-guide/). It’s got practical tips for kids of all ages. Hope you find something useful for your little girl too.

    • Joy Says:

      Oops – for your little boy. Sorry about that! It must be the lack of sleep from the colic…

    • parentsong Says:

      Thanks for your comment, Joy. I think it is especially difficult when it is your second child because the older child has to deal with it and we have this idea that we’ve been through the infancy stuff before and should have a better handle on it the second time around. But that is just not the case when it comes to colic. It is very tiring and emotionally draining, but do hang in there! The baby doesn’t know what’s going on and best to just keep smiling because when the colic passes, you really have a different child. We haven’t worked out all the sleep issues yet, since we are waiting to see what 6-8 weeks post-colic brings. I have another post I’m working on that goes into the sleep bit more. Best to you, Mama. Your are in the thick of it now, but it doesn’t last. Thanks for sharing the teeth guide! Good to know how best to care for those chompers!


Leave a Reply

