parentsong

Stories and thoughts from day to day life in the Bullard Family

Circle Time at Home: An Introduction July 2, 2011

Filed under: Family — parentsong @ 12:54 pm
Tags: , , ,

Most preschoolers and even children in day care probably experience some kind of “circle time” during the day. In our Waldorf-inspired parenting group we attend, we open with circle time. Everyone gathers to sit in a circle and we go through a short series of songs, rhymes, finger plays, and usually close with a little something to nibble on. We use the same circle at home that is used when we are in the group. The songs and rhymes usually reflect the season and help the child to recognize and relate to what is going on around them.

I love circles at home because it is a designated time of the day that we can focus on singing and rhyming. It is a short time, only about five or ten minutes. For the young child, this repetition is important for building language and communication skills as well as attention span, memorization skills, and social skills. It feels so wonderful to have Briony saying the rhymes with me and singing the songs. It creates a meaningful ritual in the day.

In future posts, I hope to share circles (sets of songs and rhymes) that we are using. These change over every so often, probably about every two months. It is fun to put the circles together and use them. Maybe it will inspire some of your own circles! I’d love to hear special songs or rhymes you like to use with your little ones, even if they aren’t so little anymore!

 

4 Responses to “Circle Time at Home: An Introduction”

  1. kelly gould Says:

    “Baby Beluga” has proven to be a favorite for not only the little ones, but some of our girls used to sing it lots w/ us.

    There’s also the rainbow song. If you haven’t heard it, here are the lyrics. I’m sure you can hum a sweet tune to go with it, but it’s great to sing outside, when coloring, when it’s raining, whenever:
    “red and yellow and pink and green, purple and orange and blue (you can change this first line to “red orange yellow and pink and green, indigo, violet too”-which I like better because of less “ands”)
    I can sing a rainbow sing a rainbow sing a rainbow too
    listen with your eyes, listen with your eyes, sing everything you see
    I can sing a rainbow, sing a rainbow, sing a rainbow too.”

    Noah’s most recent favorite is “Take me out to the ballgame.”

    • parentsong Says:

      So funny you should mention the rainbow song! We were just singing that the other day. I found some groovy YouTube videos of it. It’s also the only song I remember my mom singing to me as a little girl.

      I like your rendition of listing the colors, too. Funny because there is no pink in the rainbow and it’s a strange order of listing (what happened to ROY G BIV?) Oh well, I like the song anyway!

      • kelly gould Says:

        I thought you should know that the blog and pictures, topics, etc. really does a beautiful job of capturing the preciousness of this stage of your (and my) kid’s lives. It is a reminder to me to sloooooow down, boycott the paperwork mountain and enjoy my sweet babies before they are driving. You may feel in the middle of a period of madness (since going from one to two is a SERIOUS adaption), but you are doing a great job as a mommy!!!

      • parentsong Says:

        Thanks, Kelly! I love reading your blog, too. It’s hard to acknowledge the subtle beauty of childhood these days. Everything seems so rushed. It goes so quickly…


Leave a Reply

