parentsong

Stories and thoughts from day to day life in the Bullard Family

On the Back Burner August 21, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — parentsong @ 6:03 am
Tags: , ,

It has come to the point where I am going to have to put the blog on the back burner for a while. We have many things going on in the life of child-rearing. I honestly DO NOT know how other moms do it- kudos to you! Between the two children, I have about 1-2 hours a day to catch up on life: shower, wash dishes, put food away, prepare any food, pay bills, make a grocery list, read, check emails, talk to my husband uninterrupted, and on the special occasion, blog. So, while I prepare for the “opening” of Hilltop Garden Academy (my homeschool preschool, temporary name), I am going to take a break from blogging.

The preschool I am designing is a blend of Waldorf and Montessori education / experience philosophies. But don’t they sort of contradict each other, you ask? Only a bit- and it depends on what aspects of each one would blend. As I research both (along with basic education philosophy, like John Dewey), I begin to see how they compliment each other nicely and will provide just the right balance for us.

We are also going through some serious discipline and transition stages with the children. I want to focus on what is best for them and support them as much as possible. This takes a lot of energy! Yow! But amazingly, all the stuff I learned in my training as a music therapist is really starting to come into focus (at least the psychology stuff). So that is exciting.

So if you are a blogger, or something like that, and have young children and no baby sitters, how does it work? Could use a little insight here…

Ahh, I already feel better. Hope to have some fun posts (and musical posts!) up in September. Until then, may the force be with you!

 

2 Responses to “On the Back Burner”

  1. elisa Says:

    I’m so sad to hear you are “back-burning” your blog. I understand busy, not 2 kid busy, but busy none the less. I’d like to encourage you to continue blogging, maybe you should cut out all the book review reading and focus on this school. I’m sure once that starts there will be a zillion of things you’ll want to share. And remember sometimes a post with a photo and a quick caption is totally awesome! Readers like breaks too 🙂

  2. kelly gould Says:

    exchange sleep, showers, getting dressed and eating for time on computer blogging to clear overwhelmed brain…wow, i sound like a junkie!!! i like elisa’s advice. note to self: keep it short and take a shower instead!


Leave a Reply

