parentsong

Stories and thoughts from day to day life in the Bullard Family

Apple Picking November 12, 2011

Filed under: Activities,Music — parentsong @ 6:23 am
Tags: , , , ,

Making our way well into November, I know apple season is waning, but I thought it would be nice to share some of our favorite apple songs and verses and some of our apple-picking photos. This year we were able to make apple-picking a bigger part of our lives and visit the orchards several times. No apples from the grocery store this fall! And this weekend we’ll head out to the farm for some old-fashioned cider-making!

Song:

Down in the green orchard, there stands a green tree,

With the finest of branches you ever did see!

The apples are ripe, and ready to fall

And here is a basket to gather them all!

Here is the tree with leaves so green,

And here are the branches that hang in between.

When the wind blows, the apples will fall,

And here is a basket to gather them all.

Song:

The leaves are green, the apples are red,

They hang so high above my head.

Leave them alone til frosty weather

They’ll all come tumbling down together.

Two little apples, hanging in a tree.

Two little apples, smiled at me.

I shook that tree as hard as I could,

Down came the apples, Mmmm they were good!

Way up high in the apple tree,

An apple looked down and smiled at me.

I spied that apple so red and round,

And caught it as it tumbled down!

How do you like to enjoy apples? Maybe next year I’ll get to cook with them some more! For now, it is cut and eat- very simple. I think I’ll try a pie, though. We just got a nice mix of winesap, goldrush, and stayman. We’ll see how my swell baking abilities handle it (she says, sarcastically).

Thanks for reading!

 

One Response to “Apple Picking”

  1. Kelly Gould Says:

    I miss reading your blogs. They are so pretty and sweet to look at (adjectives that we would despise in college, right?)

    love you and REALLY wish something could happen to help us arrange a play date with Heather and the boys. Ah yes, there’s that pipe dream again!

    “Free Time? What’s that??!!”
    Would you do me a favor sometime and email a “Montessouri 101” from the perspective of yourself and Nick? C and I have been looking into it off and on for a few years. I know so much about “bad” education that it’s hard for me to succinctly express all the benefits and what M is really like. Plus, I want the real person testimonial, rather than textbook explanation.


Leave a comment